Court LogoSuperior Court of California, County of San Joaquin
Stockton Branch, Administration
222 E. Weber Avenue, Room 303
Stockton, CA 95202
December 18, 2002Voice: (209) 468-8120
Pager: (209) 982-8528

Court Appoints 4 New Members to the
Juvenile Justice - Delinquency Prevention Commission

Two new members of the Juvenile Justice - Delinquency Prevention Commission will be sworn in Thursday, December 19, 2002, at 4:00pm at Juvenile Hall in French Camp:

  • Amanda Chavez, St. Mary's High School senior
  • Gina Rene Della Maggiore, J.D. from McGeorge School of Law

The 12-member Commission is a watchdog agency that inquires into the administration of juvenile justice within the County. Commissioners may inspect any jail or lockup in San Joaquin County which in the preceding calendar year was used for confinement for more than 24 hours of any minor. They also cooperate with and assist in coordinating the work of community agencies striving to reduce juvenile delinquency.

Other new Commission member are:

  • Matt La Rue, Lincoln High School junior, sworn in 12/17/02
  • Steve Jarrett, Chaplain, Lodi Police Department, sworn in 11/6/02

Candidates for the commission must be residents of the County and must demonstrate an interest in the juvenile justice system, according the Honorable Richard Vlavianos, Presiding Judge of the Juvenile Court. "Our new members recognize that the young people in our county deserve high quality services," he said, "and they want to do what they can to help."

Commissioners are appointed by for a 4-year term. They meet twice each month, and are granted a $25 honorarium for each meeting in lieu of expenses.

Other Commissions are: Janet Rivera, Chair
Don Busser, Vice chair
Flavio Gonzales
Irene Killian de Ojeda
Ted Yoneda
Richard Whitlock
Thomas Cantrell
Joseph Silva